Baseball 24/7, Nice!

mlb_network_logo   

     “Our national pastime goes full-time,” is how it’s being plugged on the television right now.  It makes sense that Major League Baseball finally have it’s own network pandering to die-hard fans with around the clock coverage.   

     MLB has stolen precious air-time as of late from the NFL (playoff runs, no less) NHL and the NBA season with the off-season free agency market thriving in the pockets of the Steinbrenner clan (pre-Christmas). 

     I love this idea.  And I have to say, about time!  Baseball is knee-deep in history.  It is through this history that younger fans can experience the drama and traditions and we can work on reeling them in. 

     I’ve had the opportunity to watch previews and highlights (Channel 280) and cannot wait.  Who doesn’t get chills as they pan in to a humble Lou Gehrig, addressing Yankee Stadium and the world as he says those immortal words: “Today, I consider myself the luckiest man on the face of the earth.” Or a class-act and local icon like Cal Ripken (Jr.) celebrate the record-breaker 2,131 with such humility.  How about the emotionally charged game follwowing the World Trade Center attack at Yankee Stadium or the Negro League finally getting some solid air time. Maybe this will do it for you: the Babe, Mickey Mantle, Ricky Henderson and Roberto Clemente.  Willy Mays.  Ted Williams.  Seriously? 

     I believe I get it free as a part of Comcast’s package.  As many others should too.  According to the promo- MLB network will open to an audience of 50 million viewers. And it’s making its debut January 1 at 6:00 pm.   At last, I’ve got another default station besides ESPN. 

     Nice!  

 

2 thoughts on “Baseball 24/7, Nice!

  1. yeah…… baseball is surely a religion after NFL …….. I actually love to watch baseball than NFL….. and my favorite team in that is Phillies…as they are the best….I actually like to keep myself updated regarding MLB and for that I only rely upon one website ant that is known as http://www.sportsviews.com..so guys check out the webiste.. now…..

Leave a comment