There’s Just Something About Joe Taylor

Baltimore Mariners

Joe Taylor is a youthful looking 29-year old who seems to possess the quintessential “leadership”  tag football fans like Mind Pinball like to grapple with.  He’s been rumored as being the next Ed Reed. He laughs it off.  “Oh yeah, that’s me.”  He is a professed student of the game and a confessed ball-hawk, “You know if it’s in the air, it’s mine.”  He is assured without being cocky.  And his two interceptions this season help back it up.  Plus, he has one fumble return for a touchdown. 

But to define his leadership role, well that might be a bit tricky.  His style is this: “Overall, I’m just laid back and calm, but I have my moments of intensity.” 

Watching Taylor practice is like watching a kid fly a kite on a windy day for the first time.  He is focused and laughing, having a good old time.  Baltimore Mariners     Taylor was born in Atlanta and grew up in Tallahasse, Florida.  He started playing organized football in his junior year of high-school.  Out of high-school, Taylor went into the Navy for four years.  He spent two plus years in Japan and played semi-pro football there, he loved it!

And loves it still.  In fact, his love for the game has rubbed off on his 5-year old daughter, Jeniya. “She loves doing the cheerleading thing but then everytime I talk to her she’s like ‘Dad, I want to get out there with you. Like the next game, can I get out in the field with you and play with you?’   And I’m like, well, you are a little bit too young yet.  She just loves it!”  Taylor giggles while talking about her.  For now, Jeniya likes to come to her Daddy’s games and cheer. dsc_0193

Taylor has his hands full with his schedule.  When asked what he likes to do with his free time he looks confused, like- what is that?  He lives in the Fort Meade/Laurel area, works as a government contractor as a Maritime Analyst.  He also attends Morgan State University and will get his Bachelor’s Degree in Criminal Justice this summer.  So yeah, spare time is a commodity.  He goes from work to football practice to school to home. 

“That’s why I enjoy my free time- it is so hard to come by.  When I have it I like spending time with my daughter or playing video games with the fellas.”  Video game of choice: Madden of course.  But the list doesn’t stop there.  He likes Call of Duty and basically any sports games.       

Baltimore Mariners

This defensive back for the Mariners and safety for the Maryland Sting likes talking about the game.  Even though his NFL team hails from Tampa Bay he’ll talk Ravens.  “The Ravens did really well this year with their rookie quarter back.  I love their defense.  I love Ed Reed, I love him.  He’s a ball-hawk and since Sean [Taylor, the former Redskins player who was slain] is out of the game now, Ed Reed is my favorite. I just love the way Reed plays the game with that passion he has.”  

Although the Baltimore Mariners do get paid, I’m guessing it’s a pittance compared to some of the big-league contracts.  Taylor says it’s not about money for him at all.  And on that note, he was asked what his take was on the Ray Lewis signing.  “I think it was all a money thing.  He [Ray] was saying I might go here and I might go there. It was all a ploy to get the money.  Nobody can picture Ray in a different uniform, I don’t even think he can see himself in another one.”

This Mariner/Maryland Sting player has a taste for competition, for sure.  But he seems to keep it in check.  Another thing he enjoys is playing golf.  But, “I think I lose more balls than I put in the holes. But hey- I have fun.  I just like it because I get outside and it’s relaxing. It’s a lot of fun.”

When it comes to getting his game face on for competitive play, Taylor doesn’t necessarily rely on music.  What gets him torqued up?  “Once I hear the national anthem, I get chills and it’s time to go.”  

At this particular practice, the Mariners just had it handed to them, losing 82-19 to the Columbus Lions.  But Taylor remains a positive force and it showed during the practice. ” We all know the mistakes we made. We have to work them out during practice.  The good thing is we pulled together as a family and we have to get back on track to work them out. [We] just have to get back to work with this week off, get some injuries healed up and get ready to go up to Reading.” 

On Saturday, the Mariners travel to Reading and according to Taylor, they are going to take “back over the number one spot of the division.”   Again, his tone is not cocky, it’s more of a matter of a fact.  There’s just something about this guy that makes you want to cheer for the Mariners, isn’t there? 

To learn more about the Baltimore Mariners visit  their website.  Their next home game is Friday, April 24 at the 1st Mariner Arena at 7:30 p.m. against the Florence Phantoms. 

 

In Spite Of Allegiance, Jeffrey Cuts Mustard

At his own wedding, this Yankee fan cut a rug!
At his own wedding, this Terps fan cut a rug! (Photo from his Facebook page.)

Say hello to Jeffrey Pearlman.  He’s the winner of the 2009 MD Bird Lover March Madness Experiment. Through no action of his own, Pearlman won the contest by default.  MD Bird Lover was the actual winner but what fun would it be, if I were the recipient of a treasure I already own? 

Though I cannot vouch for his basketball knowledge, I will go on record to say this player has game.  But before we move on to that, here’s what I learned about Jeffrey’s March Madness. 

He doesn’t follow college hoops on a regular basis but appears to be ‘all in’ come tourney time. Pearlman did in fact go the traditional route with the brackets.  But he’s no bracketologist.  He was out by the second round. Ouch!  His favorite team is Maryland.  Nice!  His favorite coach, Bruce Pearl.  Why?  He’s a part of the Tribe, baby. Pearl has an extensive resume with the Vols if you want to check it out.  Or  check him out here…

See why I am leary on vouching for his hoops aptitude?

Anyway, Pearlman is no stranger.  He has ruffled a bird feather on occasion with his honky talk.  Me and this Pearl have had our fair share of  back and forth about his Yankees and it usually ends with him not knowing what to say, or so I have heard.  Still, he takes his Yankees very seriously.  So much so that he is more than willing to give up some z’s to take in the game.  And with his alarm buzzing at 3:30 a.m. you’d think it’d be tough right?  Nope.  He has that eyesore of a pinstriped jersey to fill so he keeps it real.  For example, this is a comment he left previously on this site:

Yankee fans have way more responsibility than any other fan in all of sports. We have to know every last updated detail about our ball club or we are just considered “fair weather fans” and “posers”

Forget about being a non- New Yorker Yankee fan. I have to go through the same routine every time I wear my Yankee hat or Posada jersey. “My dad is a born and raised New Yorker who raised both my brother and I to live, eat and breath Yankee baseball. Yadda, yadda… 

I’m also a believer that if you are going to be a Yankee fan, a small part of you has to like the scrutiny. I love hearing the Yankees suck chants at a baseball game, because I know it means people are jealous.

So keep up with the anti- bomber stories and I’ll keep laughing because I, as well as any other Yankee fan knows your true motive… you WISH YOU WERE A YANKEE! 

Okay, down boy!  Get the feeling that this chap shies away from scrutiny?  He’s incredulous.  Got to give him props, no?  Take note of this then: Pearlman was recently married.  He equates being a newlywed to, you guessed it…  

“Being young and married is a lot like being a Yankee fan, I catch a lot of [crap] for it, but it is one of the few things in this world that makes me really happy.”   

OH!!!  How can we not love his passion?  It’s like he has a one-track mind though (Poor Cara). His favorite football team: 

“If the Yankees wore shoulder pads I would say them but because the Redskins are the hometown boys I’ve got to go with them.”

Well, at least it’s not the Steelers!  But never fear, MD Bird Lover fans, there is poetic  justice in crowning Pearlman the winner.  It comes in the form of the sweet, sweet prize. I mean this brilliant and awesome tee-shirt by Dellarose’s. Coolest design ever! (Plus great food and amazing Baltimore sports memorabilia).

Drink it in, Jeffrey says, this will be the only time he ever wears any O's or Ravens gear!
Drink it in, Jeffrey says, this will be the only time he ever wears any O's or Ravens gear!

Cheers Jeffrey! Digging the shirt. Only thing better in this picture would have been your mug showing off that big bright smile of yours. 

But I will give you this, the last words, this one and only time….

Tell us about your favorite stadium? 

It’s funny you ask. This past summer, Cara [wife] and I went to Yankee Stadium and as we were putting mustard on our hot dogs a reporter from the New York Post came up to us and asked why Yankee Stadium was so great.  My response was,  “Yankee Stadium, unlike any other venue is like a breathing organism. I truly get goose-bumps when I walk through the turn style.  The name of the article:  “ROLLING OUT THE RED CARPET FOR ALL STAR GAME 2008″

Congrats, Pearlman and enjoy your new digs.  Oh and that new little stadium which opens today.