Nick Adenhart: Hall Of Fame Person

Ms. Molly-

This comment is for all your readers who may not have had the chance to get to know Nick.  Nick was a young man just coming into his own.  

No one will ever know how great he could have been in the majors. 
IF HIS MAJOR LEAGUE CAREER WAS BASED ON THE SAME LEVEL AS THE FINE YOUNG MAN HE TURNED OUT TO BE,  HE WOULD HAVE HAD A HALL OF FAME CAREER.

I first got to know Nick when he was playing ball at Halfway Little League in Hagerstown, MD. Nick was a 10-year old kid who dominated on the mound and batters box when I first became a coach.  This was against 9-12-year olds! 

Everybody in the area knew he was going places and so did he. Nick was followed throughout his amateur career. Those who followed and knew him got to see him grow as a person. After his arm injury in high-school, to me– he started looking at things a little bit different. 

I could go on and on forever about Nick, but I just NEED to say, HE WAS AS GOOD A YOUNG MAN AS HE WAS A BALL PLAYER.

One thing I know for sure is that Nick may be gone but he will never be forgotten.  

I would like to send my deepest sympathy out to his: Mom, Janet; Step-father, Dwayne; brother, Henry; Dad, Jimmy and all his Aunts and Uncles and Grandparents. (Ditto from MD Bird Lover) 

Tom Wallech

Editorial note: Nick Adenhart of Silver Spring, Maryland died tragically after being involved in a hit and run accident.  At 22 years old, Adenhart was a starting pitcher for the Los Angeles Angels and was projected to be the starting pitcher in tonight’s game at Camden Yards. It would have been Nick’s first MLB appearance in front of his hometown.

I want to share this poem of sorts (author unknown), it was read at my Mom’s funeral by my cousin Michael Peter Spendio. I’ve never, ever forgotten. I found (and still find) incredible comfort in this… 

To Those I Love….

When I am gone, release me, let me go. I have so many things to see and do. You mustn’t tie yourself to me with tears, be happy that we had so many years.  I gave you my love, you can only guess how much you gave me in happiness. 

But now it’s time I traveled on alone.  So grieve awhile for me if grieve you must, then let your grief be comforted by trust.  It’s only for a while that we must part so bless the memories within your heart.  I won’t be far away, for life goes on. So if you need me call and I will come. Though you can’t see or touch me, I’ll be near and if you listen with your heart, you’ll hear all of my love around you soft and clear.  And then, when you must come this way alone, I’ll greet you with a smile and say Welcome Home.

Melvin Mora Back

Classic Dempsey getting Melvin moving at Fan Fest, this just might be my most fave picture yet this year in O's baseball.
Classic Dempsey getting Melvin moving at Fan Fest. This series of pictures just might be my fave pictures this year in O's baseball.

 From the Orioles today:

 The Orioles reinstated 3B MELVIN MORA from the 15-day disabled list, where he had been since April 13 with a strained left hamstring.   

The club optioned RHP MATT ALBERS to Triple-A Norfolk to make room on the roster for Mora.   

Mora was batting .313 (5-16) with a homer and seven RBI in five games for the Orioles before injuring his hamstring against Tampa Bay on April 12.  

Albers, who returns to Norfolk for the second time this season, was 0-1 with a 7.78 ERA (9.1IP, 8ER) in eight relief appearances for the Orioles.

Start us off tonight, Melvin like you did at Fan Fest!
Start us off tonight, Melvin, just like you guys did at Fan Fest!

Photos by Megan Dixon